The One Where I Begin.

My name is Laura and I’m a procrastinator. I’ve said for years that I want to be a writer, but never actually attempted to write anything for public consumption.

There are three reasons that I’ve been somewhat hesitant to try my hand at blogging:

  1. Fear. Once you put something into the public domain, you’re inviting assholes to have opinions.
  2. Generally poor follow-through on all projects I embark upon. I’ve been accurately pegged as a procrastinator since I was in preschool. “I’ll Do It For Homework” was my award at our preschool graduation ceremony. My mother still has the award somewhere. I should probably frame it.
  3. Too many other little people bloggers. There seems to be an over-saturation of bloggers who have dwarfism and something to say. I’d like to think I have something to say and I happen to have dwarfism.

Clearly, my stature affects my life on a daily basis and skews my view on many issues, but I don’t think it’s my defining characteristic as a person. It’s usually a secondary consideration when I think about who I am. I’m more likely to worry about my potential awkwardness, weird vocabulary, and relative inability to be a mature adult.

I’m hoping that the more I write, the closer I will get to figuring out what I want to be when I grow up. I’m 30. It might be time. Onward!

One thought on “The One Where I Begin.

Leave a Reply

